Schedule

Monday, June 7, 2021

Keynote

6 – 7:10 a.m. (Pacific)
9 – 10:10 a.m. (East Coast)
3 – 4:10 p.m. (Germany)
4 – 5:10 p.m. (Moscow)
9 – 10:10 p.m. (China)
10 – 11:10 p.m. (Japan)
11 p.m. – 12:10 a.m (Melbourne)

The Chinese Question: Chinese Migration and Global Politics in the Nineteenth Century

Simone Lässig (German Historical Institute Washington): Welcome and Introductory Remarks

Mae Ngai (Columbia University): Lecture 

Payal Banerjee (Smith College): Commentary

Q&A


Panel 1

7:15 – 8:30 a.m. (Pacific)
10:15 – 11:30 a.m. (East Coast)
4:15 – 5:30 p.m. (Germany)
5:15 – 6:30 p.m. (Moscow)
10:15 – 11:30 p.m. (China)
11:15 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. (Japan)
12:15 – 1:30 a.m (Melbourne)

Regulating Space and Place in Late Qing China

Nan-Hsu Chen (Washington University in St. Louis):
States, Settler-Aboriginal Alliances, and Stateless Space in Maritime Southeast Qing China in the 1860s

Christina Till (China Branch Office Beijing, Max Weber Stiftung):
Administering the Borderland Empire:
Multiethnic and Multilingual Archives in Heilongjiang Province in the Late Qing Dynasty

Elliott Young (Lewis & Clark College):
Beyond Chinese ‘Coolies’ as Victims

Commentary:  Gabriel Terol Rojo (Universidad de Valencia)

Chair: Sarah Beringer (German Historical Institute Washington)

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Panel 2

6 – 7:15 a.m. (Pacific)
9 – 10:15 a.m. (East Coast)
3 – 4:15 p.m. (Germany)
4 – 5:15 p.m. (Moscow)
9 – 10:15 p.m. (China)
10 – 11:15 p.m. (Japan)
11 p.m. – 12:15 a.m (Melbourne)

Cultural Encounters and Exclusion Along the Pacific Rim

Kristie Patricia Flannery (IHSS, Australian Catholic University):
Empire by Expulsion: Analyzing the First Forced Mass Migration in the Pacific World and its Legacies

Luise Fast (Universität Bielefeld):
Navigating Cultural Encounter in the North: Interpreters in Nineteenth-Century Alaska 

Kankan Xie (Peking University):
Harnessing Nationalism: Chinese Education in the Late-Colonial Dutch East Indies, 1900-1942

Commentary: Evelyn Hu-DeHart (Brown University)

Chair: Sören Urbansky (Pacific Regional Office of the German Historical Institute Washington)


Panel 3

7:20 – 8:30 a.m. (Pacific)
10:20 – 11:30 a.m. (East Coast)
4:20 – 5:30 p.m. (Germany)
5:20 – 6:30 p.m. (Moscow)
10:20 – 11:30 p.m. (China)
11:20 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. (Japan)
12:20 – 1:30 a.m (Melbourne)

Hemispheric and Transpacific Approaches Toward Regulating Mobility

Ricardo Martínez Esquivel (Universidad de Costa Rica):
Unwanted Immigrants, Social Control, and Exclusion in Costa Rica from the Nineteenth to the Twentieth Century

Kathy Lopez (Rutgers University):
Hemispheric Mobilities and the Limitations of Restrictions: A Comparative View of Chinese and European Migrants in an Age of Exclusion

Chrissy Yee Lau (California State University – Monterey Bay):
Racial Arbiters: Uplift and the Japanese Diaspora Youth, 1924-1934

Commentary: David FitzGerald (University of California, San Diego)

Chair: Albert Manke (Pacific Regional Office of the German Historical Institute Washington)

wednesday, June 9, 2021

Panel 4

6 – 7:15 a.m. (Pacific)
9 – 10:15 a.m. (East Coast)
3 – 4:15 p.m. (Germany)
4 – 5:15 p.m. (Moscow)
9 – 10:15 p.m. (China)
10 – 11:15 p.m. (Japan)
11 p.m. – 12:15 a.m (Melbourne)


Panel 5

7:20 – 8:30 a.m. (Pacific)
10:20 – 11:30 a.m. (East Coast)
4:20 – 5:30 p.m. (Germany)
5:20 – 6:30 p.m. (Moscow)
10:20 – 11:30 p.m. (China)
11:20 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. (Japan)
12:20 – 1:30 a.m (Melbourne)

Agency, Exclusion, and Belonging from the Cold War to the 21st Century

Fredy González (University of Illinois at Chicago):
Overseas Chinese Sworn Brotherhoods During the Cold War

Monica Cinco (Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana – Iztapalapa):
From the Politics of Difference and Indifference to the Mexican State Requesting Forgiveness from Mexico’s Chinese Community

Commentary: Christoph Rass (Osnabrück University)

Chair: Benjamin Beuerle (Deutsches Historisches Institut Moskau)

Concluding Remarks